Klaus Mäkelä

Klaus Mäkelä
Klaus Mäkelä, conductor & cellist. Photo by Heikki Tuuli (2015)

Friday, February 26, 2016

Sergei Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No.1 in D major – Leonidas Kavakos, Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra, Valery Gergiev (HD 1080p)

Το 1917 ο Σεργκέι Προκόφιεφ ήταν 26 ετών και είχε ήδη αποκτήσει τη φήμη του τρομερού παιδιού της ρωσικής μουσικής. Συγχρόνως, αρχίζοντας μία νέα δημιουργική φάση, όπου «κατευνάζοντας την ένταση» (σύμφωνα με δικά του λόγια), και επιστρατεύοντας πλέον όχι τόσο μία «σκληρή» φουτουριστική γραφή αλλά πρωτίστως το ανεξάντλητο μελωδικό του ταλέντο και μία κάπως νεοκλασική οικονομία στα εκφραστικά του μέσα, ο Προκόφιεφ συνέθεσε μία σειρά από σημαντικά έργα, όπως είναι η «Κλασική» Συμφωνία, η Τέταρτη Σονάτα για πιάνο και ασφαλώς το Πρώτο Κοντσέρτο για βιολί, για τη σύνθεση του οποίου εφάρμοσε τις πολύτιμες συμβουλές του Πολωνού βιολονίστα Πάβελ Κοτσάνσκι που επρόκειτο να είναι σολίστ στην πρεμιέρα του έργου, η οποία, όμως, ακυρώθηκε εξαιτίας της Οκτωβριανής Επανάστασης. Τελικά, το Κοντσέρτο παρουσιάστηκε για πρώτη φορά στις 18 Οκτωβρίου 1923 στο Παρίσι, από την Ορχήστρα της Όπερας της πόλης, με σολίστ τον Μαρσέλ Νταριέ, εκπλήσσοντας κριτικούς και κοινό. Στην ίδια συναυλία έκανε το ντεμπούτο του ως μαέστρος ο Ιγκόρ Στραβίνσκι, διευθύνοντας το δικό του Οκτέτο για πνευστά.

Το Κοντσέρτο για βιολί και ορχήστρα αρ. 1 σε Ρε μείζονα, έργο 19 του Σεργκέι Προκόφιεφ, ερμηνεύει ο διεθνούς φήμης Έλληνας βιολονίστας Λεωνίδας Καβάκος. Την Ορχήστρα του Θεάτρου Μαρίινσκι διευθύνει ο σπουδαίος Ρώσος αρχιμουσικός Βαλέρι Γκεργκίεφ.

Prokofiev began composing his First Violin Concerto in 1915. He was very fond of the opening theme, but was busy working on his opera "The Gambler". He regretted not having more time to work on the Concerto's "pensive opening". When he got back to it, he intended to compose a "concertino" for violin and orchestra, but the piece grew into a three-movement concerto. As musicologist and Prokofiev scholar Israel Nestyev has noted, Prokofiev consulted Polish violinist Paul Kochanski while writing the violin part. Kochanski advised him on bow markings and other technical details, and was supposed to have been the soloist at the premiere, planned for November of 1917. The piano score of the work was completed in the summer of 1917, but because of the revolution in Russia, the Concerto did not receive its first performance until 1923, in Paris.

Instead of the usual fast-slow-fast concerto structure, Prokofiev's outer movements are slow, while the middle movement is a fast scherzo. The order of the Concerto's movements is not the only unusual aspect of this violin concerto: the role of the solo violin is also atypical. While the violin dominates the piece, it is not set dramatically against the orchestra; instead, as Russian music critic I. Yampolsky wrote, the violin is "the first among equals", dominant but integrated into the orchestral texture.

Source: Alexander Carpenter (allmusic.com)

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953)

♪ Violin Concerto No.1 in D major, Op.19 (1916-1917)

i. Andantino
ii. Scherzo. Vivacissimo
iii. Moderato. Allegro moderato

Leonidas Kavakos, violin

Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra
Conductor: Valery Gergiev

Easter Festival, Great Hall of the Moscow Conservatory, April 22, 2012

Director: Pierre-Martin Juban

(HD 1080p)

Δείτε επίσης – Watch also

Dmitri Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No.1 in A minor – Leonidas Kavakos, Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, Jakub Hrůša

Sergei Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No.2 in G minor – Leonidas Kavakos, Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra, Valery Gergiev (HD 1080p)

Sergei Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No.3 in C major – Denis Matsuev, Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra, Valery Gergiev (HD 1080p)

Ottorino Respighi: Violin Sonata in B minor – Leonidas Kavakos, Yuja Wang

Gustav Mahler: Symphony No.2 in C minor, "Resurrection" – Münchner Philharmoniker, Valery Gergiev

No comments:

Post a Comment